The perceived greatness of any political leader has more to do with the challenges faced by that leader than with any of his or her inherent skills and abilities.

Write a response in which you examine your own position on the statement. Explore the extent to which you either agree or disagree with it, and support your reasoning with evidence and/or examples. Be sure to reflect on ways in which the statement might or might not be true, and how this informs your thinking on the subject.

Over thousands of years of human history, we have seen countless political leaders and their stories have been repeated inumerably. Through interesting parables, we often hear of great Kings and Queens who led vast armies. In daily news, we hear of the actions taken by presidents and prime ministers. But, does the perceived greatness of these leaders have more to do with the challenges they have faced or with their inherent skills and abilities? Through my rich life experiences working directly with politicians, I strongly believe it is the latter.

Some may argue that the challenges a leader faces cannot be determined by their inner abilities, but that is not true. Every city, state, and nation has its own set of challenges, which political leaders may or may not choose to address. Great leaders have the inherent skill to take on challenges for the betterment of their people. In my time as an ambassador for a small town in Japan, I witnessed the mayor's incredible abilities and heoric actions almost daily. When a devestating typhoon was encompassing the town, we lived for two weeks in constant rainfall. In this time, the mayor led his people, staying in the city office night by night, refusing to sleep, and instead dedicating his time and energy to work with the other city officials to devise strategies to save lives in all possible deadly scenarios. His greatness was validated firsthand by his actions and the feelings of the townspeople. A mayor without these inherent skills and character may shy away from the challenge, sleeping comfortably at home, while ordering others to do the dirty work. Certainly, nobody would consider him a great leader.

We must also understand that news and parables are not reality, but instead based on the writers' perceptions of the events. Great leaders have a special skill to gather support and attention of many people, who in turn go the extra mile to make them appear greater in news articles. In my own personal experience as a leader of a non-profit in Japan, I find that my supporters constantly exaggerate my skills and achievements, when working with local and national television and radio stations to publicize our work.

In summary, I must reiterate that a leader's greatness is determined much moreso by their inner abilities and skills than of the challenges they face.