A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

The claim raises a controversial statement on whether or not a person who has broken the social contract should retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labour. The crime rate is at its peaks right now in most parts of the world. Indisputably committing a crime is a bad thing. There might be numerous reasons why a person commits a crime. The person committing a crime has to be punished and steps should be taken to transform him or her into a better person. Nevertheless, committing a crime shouldn't take away one's civil rights or any labour benefits from the person. Thus, I generally disagree with the claim and argue that the person must be treated by corrective punishment and make him or her a better person.

First of all, the person committing a crime may have several reasons for it. It may be because of the impecuniousness, family environment, neighbourhood the person grew up in. Whatever the reason may be, It is not condonable to commit a crime. However, taking away the rights away from the person will not do any good for the person who committed the crime or the victim. Instead, the person has to undergo a punishment and make him understand the extent of his crime and how it has affected the victim. In India, there was a study conducted by the students at the University of Vellore in which the students researched the recidivism rates among many inmates in Vellore prison. It was found that the inmates who had met the victim and understood the ramifications of his or her actions had fewer recidivism rates compared to the other inmates. All I am trying to say here is there are many other ways in which a person can be made better than taking away the civil rights.

Moreover, civil rights is a person's right. It can not be taken away based on the fact that, the person committed a crime. Taking away the rights might have a negative impact on the person. It may also lead to recidivism simply because of the fact that he or she can not benefit from his or her own labour. It can also cause the person to resent the society even more, which can lead to the person committing even more crimes.

Admittedly, One might argue that, a person who commits a crime knowingly is a bad person and that nothing good should ever happen to him. These arguments are similar to " tit for tat " analogy. This kind of arguments does not help the victim in any way. Additionally, some might argue that having the rights to the person cut off will make the victim feel better. But that might be only in the short run. We need to have a positive reinforcement strategy to transform criminals into good human beings.

While committing a crime is a cardinal sin, it doesn't have to take away a person's rights. There are many ways to transform a person into a good social person. Taking away the rights only makes matters worse.