Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

There as vast number of fields of study available to college students ranging from philosophy to artificial intelligence. The fact that professional career is important for life survival of any individual is important and associated job prospects highly influence the study decisions by the students.

In my view there should not be any fixed paradigm to the selection of area of study by college students. The situation varies from person to person. Firstly, the economic situation of family highly influence the study decisions. Availability of funds to meet college fee and other study expenses has biggest impact on field of study decision. For example, someone wants to study Artificial Intelligence from MIT and is quite capable of doing so while the family do not have sufficient funds or loans to meet the financial demands of the college hence student might have to compromise by studying somewhere else or in some other field.

Secondly, there are people who have intrinsic liking for certain subjects for example, humanities do not offer numerous high paying jobs. Still people like to study humanities subjects. Whereas there could be students who are pursuing computer science of civil engineering not because of jobs in the field but their fondness for the subject.

Thirdly, sometimes students do have to compromise on their interests due to certain personal or societal situations. For example, in most of the patriarchal societies females are not allowed to travel long distances to study or stay away from home for study. Hence, even if female students of such societies have liking for certain field of study are not permitted to pursue their choice of courses. Rather they are being forced to study and earn mere degree. This is a parallel argument against both the arguments discussed in question.

Hence in my view, there is no fixed mechanism or paradigm following which students should select the field of study. Rather the reasons for selection are more personal and situational relating to social, economical and other situations of students and his/her family.