’The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.’

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.”

Young people are instilled with a sense of competition right from their childhood, be it in academics or sports or extra curricular activities. This sense of competition is considered necessary to help them realise their potential. But, in order to prepare them for leadership roles in government, industry, or other fields, it is more important to instill in them a sense of cooperation.

In order to effectively function in a society and to contribute to it, it is imperative for all people to cooperate with one another. This quality should be stressed upon in the formative years of people while they are still young. When we talk of leadership positions, we have to evaluate the qualities which make a person a good leader in any sphere. There are several studies on what constitutes a good leader which conclusively prove that it has less to do with excellence of an individual, something which is gauged in competitions, and more about interpersonal skills. A good leader is one who inspires confidence amongst his team, thereby motivating them to work towards a common goal. A good leader practices what he preaches and leads by example. He is able to identify the strengths and weaknesses of his team, lauding the former and working upon the latter. These qualities of a good leader make it amply clear that the work expected from people commandeering any field relies heavily on cooperation heavy tactics.

In a competitive environment, a person is expected to be motivated by selfish reasons. The idea at work is to think more about "me" than "we". During school years, students are taught to immerse themselves in whatever field they want to excel in. They are required to concentrate on themselves by shutting out all other distractions. Everybody else is to be considered as an opponent when the time for competing comes, even if they are one's friends. On the other hand, an environment of cooperation is encouraged while working in teams, be it group sports or group assignments. Such an environment helps in bringing out the best of any group.

It can be said that instilling a sense of competition is necessary in young people in order to prepare them for the real world. But if we are specifically talking about preparing them for leadership roles in the future, a sense of cooperation will go a long way in preparing them better than a sense of competition. Leaders are supposed to work for some larger mission for which they have to inculcate skills necessary to motivate and work with people.

In conclusion, it cannot be denied that instilling a sense of competition is necessary in young people. At the same time, it is also true that inculcating a sense of cooperation is more desirable if we hope to prepare good and effective leaders of the future.