People attend college or university for many different reasons (for example, new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge). Why do you think people attend college or university? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I believe that people decide to pursue higher education for various reasons which will help them in lead a better life. In particular, people attend college or university in order to add on to knowledge base and skill set. They wish to study in detail specific areas which interest them like astronomy, engineering, medicine, or literature. This helps them in gaining, among other things, intellectual fulfillment. The pursuit of knowledge can be an end in itself. Colleges and universities have highly qualified and knowledgeable instructors who have immense expertise in their field of study. Hence, they are the best place for an amateur to learn well from the best in the field.

Many times this pursuit is also a means in order to achieve secure career. Many people go to college or university with a foresight of what they plan to do professionally in the long term and how enrolling in a particular course will help them achieve success in that field. For example, people who wish to practice law work towards getting admission in a law school, or someone who wants to make a career as an actor will enroll in an acting school. A college degree is an official certification testifying to the skills of a person. It significantly increases the employability of a person. Hence, it is a pragmatic decision to go to college or university as it seriously increases your chances to do well professionally.