An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The recommendation for adopting a new breed of millet to overcome the vitamin A deficiency in Tagus should be scrutinized further. Specific questions regarding the results, adoption and effectiveness of this method should be studies in order to arrive at the conclusion of whether this recommendation will have the predicted result.

Firstly, the new breed of millet has been engineered by an international development organisation. Before pronouncing it as a panacea to the vitamin deficiency problem of Tagus it should be established whether it is suited to be cultivated in the climate that Tagus offers. Do the geo-physical features of the country provide a favorable atmosphere for the millet to be grown? As it is a new variety the answer to this question should be positive to consider this as a feasible solution to the problem at hand.

Secondly, questions pertaining to the acceptability and adoption of this millet must be answered. Even though farmers will be paid subsidies in order to support in purchasing the costly seed of the millet there are other factors which strongly influence the adoption rate of farmers. For example, does this new type of millet have costlier methods of cultivation as well like increased use of fertilizers or pesticides? Is the subsidy being provided to the farmers enough for them to consider cultivating the new millet? Is the new variety of millet equally easy to harvest, clean and store? Even though farmers in Tagus already consume millet, the new variety might vary in its taste. Hence it should be established first whether it can be real substitute to existing millets in a true sense. Only when these questions are answered can the rate of adoption be estimated correctly.

Thirdly, the argument does not provide any information of how landless people will get access to this new variety of millet. Since the vitamin deficiency is widespread across the population, but the seed is only being provided to the farmers the question of making this new variety of millet available to all has to be answered. How will landless people get access to this millet? How can this intervention be scaled up? These are important questions to be asked.

Fourthly, in addition to this method of adopting a relatively new variety of millet questions regarding other possible methods should also be evaluated. The suggestion to do everything possible to promote this new millet sounds like the government of Tagus is keeping all its eggs in one basket. The possibility of all feasible solutions to the problem at hand should be considered along with the cost and benefits to help evaluate this recommendation.

The suggestion to adopt a new millet which is rich in Vitamin A can be effective. But its effectiveness is subject to a lot of supporting circumstances. For this, the questions posed above need to be answered and explored to determine effectively if this millet will bring about the desired results for the nation and people of Tagus.