The best way to teach—whether as an educator, employer, or parent—is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A person's life is continuous journey of self improvement. Whether it is lessons related to our intellectual growth, efficiency of work or ethical code of conduct; we always have some guide, mentor or teacher to help us along the way. We sometimes find ourselves in the same role for other individuals. Although there is not perfect method of teaching but it definitively true that a good teacher pays equal attention to the negative as well as positive actions of the taught.

Parents use this method to make sure that the young and impressionable minds of their children do not pick up on some wrong habits like lying or bullying. While it is always a good idea to appreciate any positive action, like being honest it is similarly important to disincentivize wrong habits. This has a two pronged effect. Firstly, it helps the child know that what they have done is wrong. Secondly, it establishes that any negative action has commensurate consequences as well. Hence, it reinforces moral values along with providing a detterance to commit wrong in the future. We can extrapolate this to include not just children, but even adults. While growing up teachers provide a very important and much needed mirror to us. A good teacher must practice absolute disinterestedness. By glossing over or ignoring the negative actions of a pupil a teacher fails in his/her duty. After all, if you refuse to acknowledge the mistakes of your pupils then there is no way you can work on them.

An appreciation of positive actions coupled with acknowledgement, review and work on the negative actions is best encapsulated in the relationship shared by a coach and sportspersons. A good coach not only identifies the strengths of her student but also the weaknesses. It is necessary to work on the weak spots as well to truly gain an advantage and excel. Learning something new involves making mistakes and then learning from them. It is okay to make new mistakes. But if one is making the same mistakes repeatedly then it is the sign of a bad teacher. By not acknowledging any negatives of a pupil a teacher makes the grave error of creating a false reality in which the pupil sees herself as perfect.

It can be argued that by pointing out the negatives the teacher risks bringing down the self confidence of the pupil. To avoid this it is necessary to exercise sensitivity while working on the negatives. The parent should never reprimand or harshly criticise a child for lying or stealing. This can create a further problem by alienating the child. Similarly, a teacher should never shame a student for getting low grades. The negatives should be addressed in a constructive and emphatic manner. The whole point of focusing on the negatives is not to shame anybody, but to work together on how to make best work to remove the negative actions of any kind.

In conclusion, it is necessary for all teachers to not only praise the positives but work on the negatives as well. To attain this, the first step is acknowledging whatsoever the negatives are. It should be done in a positive and collaborative manner so that the pupils come out as better versions of themselves. After all, a good teacher is someone who helps us learn and gives us the tools and opportunity to make us better versions of ourselves.