TPO-29 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? To improve the quality of education, universities should spend money on salaries university professors. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The quality of education can be improved by using myriad other ways not necessarily by spending on salaries of the professors. To my best knowledge, professor's already earn enough money to live a quality life and support their future. I would present couple of arguments through which, quality of education can be improved.

First, Since universities are academic institutions hence, introduction of various academic clubs can engage students in discussions and dialogues of their academic interests. For example, a public policy related school can initiate a policy evaluation club where member students can meet and work upon, public policy related skills and knowledge. In addition to it, establishing such clubs will have least cost associated and students can be encouraged to lead the club. This way leadership capabilities can also be inculcated in the students.

Secondly, to improve the quality of education, universities can increase their allocation on research rather than spending the fiscal budgets on increasing salaries of professors. New research schools can be established and fellows and doctoral students can be inducted in these research schools. This will certainly improve the academic environment in the university. However, doctoral students and fellows need to be paid, yet salaries of both sets of employees can be managed in proposed budget.

Finally, universities should consider organizing student festivals and other extra curricular activities more often. In doing so, students will remain fresh and hence can concentrate more of academic classes when needed. Students do cravings for extra curricular activities. If universities address these then the environment will become more conducive to study and learning as well as quality can be improved at less cost.