TPO-01 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.Use specific reaso

Sports and social activities at universities and colleges are important, yet in my view they are not as important as the academic activities. The main objective of universities still lies in training the students academically and conduct world class research to propel the world towards progression.

Since universities and colleges are non profit organizations, hence they always have limited funds. Now they have to justifiably allocate the funds so that the utility can be maximized. Keeping that in view, I disagree that sports and social activities should receive equal financial support. If the university or college is getting established then to create infrastructure it could be argued to an extent that funds can be shared equally. Now I will put forward three arguments to justify my position.

First, In my experience not all university or college students use sports facilities as well as social activities, hence it would not be optimum to spend almost half of the financial resources on students who are interested in using such facilities. If still institution wants to go ahead with that, then I would look for data evidence that actually how many students use the facilities. If there is substantial number then institutions can otherwise they must not.

Secondly, there are many students who need financial assistance and are from poor backgrounds. In order to complete the study, sometimes they need to opt for loans and other debt instruments. In my view rather than allocating half of financial resources, if some of that money can be given to financially needy students then university or college must start some scholarships to the students on need basis. This would appeal to students with poor background but who are exceptionally talented. This would help university to address the sole purpose of their existence.

Finally, the sports and social facilities can be brought under the purview of paid services and it can be done such that the students don't run away from activities. For example, university "x" spends 100,000 USD on sports and social facilities every year and they have 2000 students who use sport facilities then a model can be proposed where cost is shared in 50:50 ration. This way university "x" will bear annually 50,000 USD and students who use facilities will bear 50,000 USD. Hence the cost of maintenance per student will be 25 USD per student per year, which could easily be borne by students in order to keep the facilities in good shape.

So, universities and colleges must try to fulfill their main objectives and on the other hand keep on supporting student activities through innovative model which makes sense for university financially. Hence, arguments seeking equal financial support for sport and social activities can be rejected on grounds of objective of university and innovation required in financial spending on such facilities.