the following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Batavia newspaper."The department of agriculture in Batavia reports that the number of dairy farms throughout the country is now 25 percent greater than it was 10 years ago. During this same time perio

The author of the letter have raised a pertinent question regarding retail price of milk and the need for the government to regulate the milk prices. The author has presented several data points and arguments to strengthen the case. However, there seems to have some inherent weakness in the arguments of the author. I will discuss some questions which needs to answered before reaching any conclusion regarding any government action over the matter.

As per arguments of the author, the dairy farms in the country had steadily grown in past 10 years and are 25% more than number of dairy farms country had 10 years ago. Although, the author is presenting the national numbers. It doesn't reflect the regional distribution of dairy farms and respective growth rate. It could be possible that, dairy farms in Batavia had actually reduced in recent past due to various reasons. Hence, the local market prices of milk are high. We must examine regional milk production data and associated milk prices before reaching out to government for any corrective action demand.

Author mentions a very apt data point that retail milk prices have doubled, from $1.50 to $3.00 over the past 10 years. From outset it looks a substantial figure, which could dwindle the household budgets. On the contrary, we should also factor in the regular annual food inflation figures. If we apply mathematical calculation we will find that amounts will double if there is inflation of 8% year on year. The inflation figure is little on the higher side. However, the Batavia region could be booming with development and hence inflation is high because residents have more disposable income. To conclude my present argument, we should check economic indicators such as inflation, growth rate and household income before conclusively comment that this is huge increase and regulation is required.

My final argument is about the dairy farmer, who sets up the farm, rears cattle and engage in business of milk production and selling. The author has conveniently ignored the potential issues which could be at the level of dairy farmer. We must check about the past 10 year trend of feed and fodder price, veterinary services cost, labor cost, utilities cost and other associated costs which are essential to run a dairy business. Any adverse impact on the input cost, to maintain a workable profit, farmer could pass on the increased cost to the end customer. Hence resulting in increased prices of milk in retail market.

In my view, we must look at the macro economic factors, local production conditions as well as the distribution of milk production and dairy farms at the country level as well as regional level to deep dive and find out the root cause of the problem or even there is a problem which needs addressing.