An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

It is good that international development organizations are concerned about the vitamin A deficiency among people of Tagus. Although the solution might feel like a hit but there are certain underlying assumptions which make this recommendation look disputed. Let us discuss below:

As it is stated that the millet is already a staple food in Tagus. It is assumed that new breed developed will have the same taste as previous breed. The taste preferences of people of Tagus has not been given serious consideration. In my view it must have got a serious consideration because the breed has been engineered and it could have a different taste that existing breed. If the taste is different then it could either increase the consumption or reduce it. If it is reduced then rather than addressing the problem, it could become a serious problem for development agency. Hence the taste trials must be conducted before fully launching the breed.

Also, it is not clear that how this new engineered breed will affect the natural resources of Tagus. Crops affect the local resources immensely. It is a cyclical process where natural resources are connected with agrarian systems. It is not clear how the new breed affects water table, pests, birds, soil, minerals etc. Hence a thorough analyses of environmental conditions must be done before rolling out the breed to ensure is it suitable to the local conditions of Tagus. Let us not assume that since existing breed of millet is there then new breed can also survive there.

It is also assumed that people will readily adopt new millet breed. What if the people are poor and the new breed does not generate yield to reflect in their cash reserves. We must understand that Vitamin A deficiency can occur due to them not consuming enough food resources rich in Vitamin A. One of the reason could be lack of financial resources. If we are not sure about greater returns than existing breed, then there is no point arguing about Vitamin A deficiency. People will only adopt when they will see a win win situation. If a balanced solution of increased yield with more vitamin A content can be provided then adoption could be better.

It is also assumed that consuming the new breed will ensure in combating the Vitamin A deficiency. This is a flawed assumption, because it is not documented that how much vitamin A existing millet is contributing in their diet. Also how much should be the ideal consumption of new breed be to overcome the deficiency is not told. In addition to it, there could be multiple solutions to the vitamin A deficiency which might be cost effective and would not involve the burden of subsidies on the economy.

I would recommend that the recommendations proposed should be analyzed thoroughly in light of sustainability, environmental conditions, taste preferences and economy etc. Then other solutions such as dairy promotions, green leafy vegetable promotion, fruits promotions etc should also be analyzed. Whoever performs better in long run in coherence with local conditions must be launched.