The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The study's claim that salicylates and their increased presence in commercially available food can contribute to a decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia. The conclusion is arrived at by some simplistic deductions which need to be substantiated by sound evidence for the argument to hold veracity.

Firstly, even though salicylates belong to the same chemical group as aspirin we are not provided an evidence regarding the similarity of both substances regarding the effect they have on headaches. Belonging to the same chemical group is not enough evidence to confirm that salicylates are as effective or even similar in its effects on headaches like aspirin. Any strong evidence confirming the effects of both these substances can strengthen the argument.

Further, the argument establishes a correlation between the commercial use of salicylates and decline in the average headaches reported. But the condition of correlation is not enough as it does not confirm causality. There can be other variables like frequent exercise, stronger medication, cleaner atmosphere which could have contributed to the decline in reported headaches. If there is any evidence suggesting salicylates have directly influenced a decrease in headache, independent of all other influencing variables, then the argument will gain more traction.

After it has been duly established that salicylates really do have a positive effect on headaches as suggested, we still need strong evidence about whether using salicylates in food additives will lead to a further decline in headaches. We need information on whether the amount of salicylates being used is enough to really be effective in case of headaches; is the dosage used while cooking is similar to a medical dose of aspirin being used. Additionally, how many people are actually consuming the food items to which salicylates has been added. In case most of the population is not even purchasing these food items, then the consumption of the substance will obviously be less. Hence, the estimated decline in headaches might never be witnessed.

The argument presented in itself lacks sufficient data to be taken seriously. Additional information regarding various aspects as discussed above will help in determining concretely whether this argument holds true or not.