People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Often in life we all are face situations in which we have to make decisions. Decisions that can have impact on our lives as well as lives of others. I agree to an extent with the statement that decisions based on emotions are poor ones and even justifying it later with logic is even poorer.

In business scenarios where every decisions is critical, it is imperative to assess and analyze every relevant detail before making any decision. In such cases making a decision based on emotion could have fatal consequences. Let us consider an example of government policy making. We know that the policy making is a tricky subject and making an equitable policy is a really a difficult task. Hence during the serious planning meetings where secretaries meet, the decisions are made on the basis of objectively analyzing data, considering social constraints and available resources. It is likely that seriously thought through decisions will be unanimous, coherent and easy to implement. While if decisions are only based on emotions and justified later then in the meantime the person who has to execute bears the brunt of ambiguity.

Decisions are sometimes problematic too atleast for a person or group who is making them. For example, if there is a judge who has to pass a judgement on a person who comes from a impoverished background but steals from a nobleman. Then in that case a judge can take a consideration to the poverty of the person and acquit him. But the judge never does that because in the process of making a decision he is also setting a landmark about the ideal citizen behavior, irrespective of the social status.

One can reason that in rational and objective behavior there is no place for emotion. This is also true to an extent because if human emotions are allowed to interfere then we might not have a perfect world. For example Humans like their comfort, yet everyone has to do their jobs. Consider a scenario where a factory worker asked to work long hours in night. The person might think that it is not comfortable for his interest then he must not work during that time. But the person on the other might also think that the additional income which is earned will help in sustaining the family. Hence there are consequences related to the either side but Objectively speaking decisions based on logic are durable, unlike human emotions which can change its course with a blink of an eye.