"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director of Super Screen Movie Production Company has reached a far reaching conclusion in his memo. The drop in people attending Super Screen-produced movies is attributed to an information asymmetry whereby people are unaware of the good quality of cinema that is being produced by the company. This unsubstantiated claim is used to make the decision that a larger share of the budget should be allocated to advertising from the next year. There are several questions whose answers need to be evaluated before making any budget decisions of this sort.

Firstly, it is necessary to study the overall trend of movie goers. It should be seen if there has been an overall drop in the number of people attending movie shows. Has the movie going population declined for other production house movies as well? And overall decline for movie goers can mean that people on the whole are not going to watch movies as they are now watching them online, or through rentals, or later whenever they are being telecast on television. Maybe there has been a change in people's taste altogether with fewer people wanting to spend time on watching movies, and egaging in other recreational activities. All these questions need to be answered to get to the bottom of why fewer people are attending movies.The drop for Super Screen produced movies is not necessarily a weak point in their advertising strategy.

Questions regarding the link between good reviews and viewership also need to be considered. Does a positive review necessarily mean higher attendance of moviegoers? The argument presented in the memo is that a good review should mean more attendance. But is there anything to suggest that this really happens. Do positive reviews reflect the tastes and preferences of moviegoers? If no, then the drop in attendance can be due to reasons other than an information gap.

The positive reviews might evaluate a movie critically but the audience can have an entirely different taste when it comes to movies. This brings us to the question: is Super Screen producing movies which are really appealing to audience taste? They might be good movies which receive good reviews but sometimes audience might even watch mediocre movies if the subject matter appeals to them. Are the people really unaware of the good movies or are they making a concious decision to not watch them as the subject matter does not appeal to them?

Lastly, even if all the answers to the preceding questions points towards a lack of awareness on the public's end it is necessary to review the current modes of advertisement. What is the present methods by which awareness is created? Is it in conjunction with the modern means of awareness creation? Is Super Screens using latest or obsolete modes of awareness creation? Are the platforms being used targetting the right kind of audience? It can be the case that the current advertising budget is more than sufficient, but since it is being used wastefully on wrong methods the results are not emerging. Hence, a mere reallocation of resources can be enough to remedy the problem. There need not be any requirement for allocation of greater share of budget to advertising.

In conclusion, before making any decisions regarding the advertising budget the production company needs to answer the various questions regarding the real reason for the drop in movie attendance. The advertising director has jumped to conclusions which are not substantiated yet. More information must be collected before making any hasty decisions.