Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Research conducted in any field by scientists or other scholars is done with the purpose of contributing to the existing knowledge base of the subject. It is likely to help the community in various ways but it is hard to qualify research on the basis of benefit accrued to the largest number of people.

To begin with, the idea of benefiting the largest number of people is ambiguous in itself. It is difficult to define in rigid terms what qualifies as benefits to the community. There can be different view and opinions regarding potential benefits and a lot of varied research studies can co-exist in this umbrella of different definitions. Also, quantification of what qualifies as greatest number of people is an undefined territory which is open to interpretation.

There are various areas in which research is conducted and the respective reasons for the same can also vary immensely. In the liberal arts research can focus on understanding the underlying themes prevalent in the music, literature, architecture etc of the centuries gone by as well as contemporary themes in a quest to better understand and build upon the workings of the aesthetic mind. Such research might not have very apparent benefits to the society but can be invaluable to people whose interest lies in studies of the culture we have inherited or live in. Scientific research can also be involved in various themes ranging from understanding evolutionary studies, to the study of medicinal sciences and finding possible causes and cures of fatal diseases, as well as finding technological advancements which can make the life of human beings easier. Not all studies may have direct benefits to society but each research is a building block in laying the foundation of human understanding, which can be built upon to further benefits to the human cause. Similarly, many studies focusing on futuristic areas may not seem extremely relevant in the present times but their true worth might be realized years down the line.

Also, following this utilitarian tent of maximizing benefit for the maximum number of people is a very naive way to understand the purpose of research. It severely restricts the functions that research can play in contributing to society. As far as research is concerned in the social sciences, there are various issues concerning social ills like illiteracy, poverty, poor healthcare, gender inequality etc. which concern themselves with benefiting people in a more direct manner. But there are also several minority communities like the elderly, immigrants, single mothers, mentally challenged etc. which will effectively be left out if research were to only focus on benefiting larger numbers.

In conclusion, the research studies conducted by scientists and scholars need not define any rigid definition of benefiting the largest number of people as it is very difficult to define what constitutes as benefits, it ignores the indirect and spillover effect that research can have, and it seriously ignores the role research should play in contributing to the minority communities of our society.