All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The practice of hiring outside consultants by companies in order to run the company more efficiently has been gaining a lot of popularity. This practice is akin to getting an expert second opinion for a medical diagnosis, once the family doctor has had a say. Running a company is a rigorously demanding job and the constantly changing environment in which such companies operate necessitates the seeking of such expert suggestions.

The statement presented by the author emphasizes how the services of such consultants are superfluous if the company employees are listened. But this is not necessarily so. After all, the employees of a company cannot give entirely disinterested suggestions to increase the efficiency. The company can invite suggestions from employees to make operations more efficient but the employees can be motivated by selfish concerns like better work hours, comfortable working conditions, other perquisites which can hinder them from making any really effective suggestions. The efficiency of a company stems from the productivity of its employees as well. There are cases where laying off non performing employees is considered a necessary step to increase the efficiency of a company. In such a case, it cannot be expected that the employees will give an unbiased feedback on how to improve the efficiency of operations. Hence, companies will be foolish to rely solely on what their employees have to say as there may be several occupational biases at work.

There is also the possibility of employees developing a tunnel vision. Working in a particular sector with the same people, place and culture can can give rise to a blinkered approach. Sometimes, a job becomes so routine that an obviously brilliant solution also escapes consideration by many. This creates the need to bring in a pair of eyes with a fresh perspective, which is what third party consultancies do. They refer to the bare facts and information of a company without any baggage and offer solutions which might be not have even crossed the mind of any company employee.

Also, consultants bring in their own knowledge and skills to the mix. Full time consultants who are engaged in maximizing efficiency of companies are masters of their domain. Their skills range from knowledge of operations to administrative processes to HR management. They put all their acquired skills, from theory as well as practice, to suggest various ways and means by which any company can operate more efficiently. It is unlikely that any company employee can display such a diversified portfolio of expertise.

This does not imply that employee feedback should be done away with. It is necessary for every company to establish good channels of communication among its various employees. There must also be robust feedback system. Many reasons for the inefficiencies can be easily identified by the company as well as the consultants if all such things are already in ways. The consultants job is to go one step further and also suggest solutions to how these bottlenecks can be solved and entirely avoided in the future. It is also possible that for smaller companies a good communication channel between employees and employers can help in doing away with consultants, at least for minute operational inefficiencies.

In conclusion, it is true that consultants are experts in their fields and can really helps companies in identifying as well as remedying operational inefficiencies. Their services cannot be entirely replicated and replaced by employee feedback systems. But it can surely be supplemented by such methods. Hence, it has its own important role to play.