A nation requires same national curriculum study system for its student until college.

Young generation is often termed as nation builder and it is expected from upcoming generation to solve the problems of the nation going forward. The best way a nation can progress, is by enabling cohesive educational environment where students can learn and develop mental faculties for independent thought process.

Students can develop mental faculties when they have freedom for creative thought and critical thinking. Hence, I do not agree with the statement that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum in school. Education itself is a complex topic and many of the developing countries are still not able to solve the problem associated with elementary education. There are advantages and disadvantages of all students studying same curriculum in school. We will evaluate these one by one.

Students are a creative lot, they like to explore the ideas, think and share. There are certain basic education which every person needs. Such as basic calculus, language skills, social science and basic science. This constitutes vital parts of elementary education. However, mandating one curriculum for advanced level of school studies such as high school can have negative repercussions.

First being, if the all the students follow same curriculum in school, then chances are high that everyone will have almost identical learning experience. This learning experience will directly contribute in their thought process as well as problem solving. There will be distinct lack of diversity in thinking and approach. Thought and approach related diversity is of utmost importance because going forward the students will work in official capacities and a nation would not want the person to base his/her judgement on one single point of view. Imagine thousands of working people thinking the same way and working as per it. This would be banal and inefficient.

Also, a nation wants the students to thrive in diverse areas. We should give freedom to students to develop their career interests at young age, maybe at a level of high school. If students are not exposed to different study areas, how we can expect them to identify any of them as potential career options when they leave the school. Students would become very confused and may regret not having prior knowledge of subjects. Additionally, there are political repercussions too. The political parties in power may have their own ideology and would want to include it in the educational material. If we have one common curriculum then it becomes easy to integrate and disseminate the ideology. This could be particularly harmful in nations where there is presence of left and right wing extremists in the politics.

However, it does have an advantage. Standardizing the curriculum would reduce the costs for government. It need not engage multiple experts in evaluating the different curricula on regular basis neither it needs to put a lot effort in monitoring what is being taught and its effectiveness. Having said that, in my view the disadvantages outnumber advantages by huge margin and hence a nation should not require all students to study same curriculum till they reach college.