A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The school curriculum for students in any nation should reflect a healthy mix of various subjects and fields of studies. There are many nations where the curriculum differs from one school to the other depending on the various educational boards present in the country. This practice is healthy and should not be make way for a national curriculum which is taught in all schools.

Before securing admission into colleges, students gain foundational understanding of subjects at the school level. Even though the basic subjects of study remain more or less the same across schools, the curriculum is subject to variations. There are certain boards which lay an emphasis on choosing electives at an early age, whereas others bring in the choice of subjects at a later stage of school. The curriculum across may also be different regarding the nitty gritties of subject matter being taught. Some schools emphasise on the global scenario related to a particular subject while others are more rooted in the domestic aspects. Still other schools, like convent schools, might have an added focus on religious studies along with studies related to the sciences and arts. Such a choice of curriculum caters to different needs and aspirations of different students. Parents also put their children into different schools keeping in mind these considerations.

The state should involve itself to the least extent in such affairs in order to avoid an autocratic rule. The introduction of a standardized national curriculum can lead to assembly line approach to education wherein every school is churning out similarly educated and skilled students in to the real world. There will be no prevalence of differently skilled and independent thinking students. School education lays the base for higher studies which are pursued by students depending on their invidual organic experience. Many students choose their schools consciously in order to prepare themselves for the kind of professional they desire in the future. By imposing the same curriculum in all schools the state will be robbing the education system of its diversity.

That being said, it is obviously necessary that all schools should be in fulfilment of a minimum basic criteria in order ensure good quality education to all students enrolled, in order for them to be suitably qualified to apply to colleges in the country as well as abroad, if they so desire. All schools must follow a registered and certified curriculum. The state must ensure that basic education needs of all students are fulfilled which aids in their knowledge growth and qualifies them for the labour market as well.

By deciding upon a same national curriculum in all schools of a country, gates are also opened for the misuse of peddling propogandist education in schools. This provision can be abused by political parties or certain interest groups in spreading ideas, themes and theories which spread their own convictions. This can make the education being received by students singularly prejudiced, colored by biases, and highly opinionated which at the same time prevents them from going about their studies in an objective manner. It can be argued that a standardized curriculum can help in creating a level playing for all students from different backgrounds so that they have an equal chance of getting into a good college. But curriculum does not have as much of a role to play in this as does better infrastructure, facilities and good faculty.

Hence, the state should not push for a uniform national curriculum for schools in the country as it would risk losing the independent novely of each school's method of education and also runs the risk of misuse to propogate opinionated pieces masquerading as objective knowledge.