People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A popular saying goes "look before you leap and think before you speak". The lesson it conveys is that careful thought must precede all our actions and utterances. Decisions taken should be based on careful contemplation rather than whimsical notions. Our emotions should not govern our decision making as they have a tendency to cloud our better judgement. Hence, good decision makers do not seek logic after making decisions purely on the basis of emotions.

Good decision makings comprises a proper understanding of the context of any situation, evaluation of the possible options as well weighing in the pros and cons of each. When we let our emotions take hold of us we lose the power of thinking rationally and undergoing the due process necessary to make a logical decision. We can be driven by negative emotions of envy or hatred as well as positive emotions of love or deference. In either case, we make decision which are heavily prejudiced. This delays the employment of logic. We make precarious decisions and then try to justify the same by using faulty and self serving logic.

It is not an easy task to stay absolutely unaffected by emotion before making a decision. But it is highly recommended as can be illustrated in the trial proceedings of the judicial system. For high profile cases which get good media coverage it is advised to the jury to limit their exposure to media stories of the case. The highly opinionated editorial pieces or television discussions can seriously hamper the ability of a jury member to make a rational decision pertaining to the case. The best way to make a decision is to look at the bare facts of the case. Nowadays even while a case is under trial in a court of law a parallel media trial aims to impart a decision of its own. Exposing oneself to such a clearly biased and ill informed proceeding can color one's judgement immensely. Therefore, jury members are advised to stay well away from such stories in case their judgement gets biased.

Another example is the Gulf War which saw the invasion of Iraq by the US army under the Bush administration. on the hunch that Iraq is hiding weapons of mass destruction. After thousands of lives were lost and an entire country ravaged, it was found that the claims of Iraq hiding weapons of mass destruction were based on at best very flimsy evidence. But since the war came at such a huge cost it was justified by claiming it was a fair war as it led to the captivity and ultimately hanging of the tyrannical ruler Saddam Hussein. Unfortunately, this windfall of the war seems like a weak justification for a decision which was driver more by emotion and less by logic.

Any good decision's hallmark is the basis on which it is being made. A disinterested level headed approach to arrive at any decision is required in order to make a fair decision. Our emotions can obstruct our thinking and lead to poor decisions which can negatively affect one or more individuals. Instead of looking for logic after taking whimsical decisions, a good decision maker strives for logic beforehand.