An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be p

On the face of it the development of new millet to counter the deficiency of Vitamin A among the natives of Tagus seems a brilliant step. However, there are series of assumptions and serious questions which needs to be answered before government decides to implement the policy advocated by international development organization.

First of all, it is mentioned that new breed of millet has been developed. The questions arise here are how this new millet breed has been developed? Is this specifically bred for Tagus's climatic and agricultural conditions or it is some generic breed which has not been tested in the agricultural conditions of Tagus. The assumption that, new breed will succeed in Tagus is a huge assumption. In case it fails to adapt it will be a monumental failure of huge proportions which could cost dearly to people in terms of food security and financial conditions.

Secondly, author assumes that new breed will have similar taste to the old breed. It is also a big assumptions, author has assumed people will have no issues in adapting to it. However, as we know humans they have specific tastes and liking towards certain grain types. It could well be the case that people of Tagus refuse to accept the taste of new breed of millet. Hence it would be prudent for the organization to first test the taste and culinary acceptance of new millet.

Thirdly, it is claimed that new breed will have higher content of Vitamin A while author fails to provide any information about the content of Vitamin A in existing breed. Testing out the contents of Vitamin A in both the breeds will make the situation much clearer and would be able to data evidence about which millet has more Vitamin A.

Fourthly, It is mentioned that organization wants seed subsidies for promotion of new millet breed. My question here would be, are there serious benefits arising from new millet for government to make the investment. Even if marginal gains are substantial in overcoming Vitamin A deficiency, these need to be demonstrated with data evidence that benefits overrule investment by some margin. Then only organization should raise discussion over seed subsidies. Also, we should explore, engaging government in seed production to reduce the cost rather than seeking subsidies.

To conclude, we must overcome all the assumptions and questions raised in prior discussion. Major being acceptability and adaptability of new breed in agro climatic conditions of Tagus. Along with, factual evidence of vitamin A content in both the breeds. Organization must also carry out mass checks about the taste acceptability of new millet and finally it must revisit the claim that government should provide seed subsidies by proposing studies information and analysis.