Requiring university students to take a variety of courses outside their major fields of study is the best way to ensure that students become truly educated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A good education equips a student with knowledge in various spheres. It is commendable to see a student excel in her field of study but a good education helps in broadening the awareness on various topics of note. When a student's education covers various fields it contributes to a holistic development of mind. And this is the whole point of a good education.

The idea of possessing a minimum basic knowledge of various subjects is supported right from school days. Young students are taught various subjects like literature, mathematics, science, economics, history, etc. It helps them in understanding their interests in various fields and also develops a basic understanding of all subjects which is necessary. In other words, this helps them in understanding their passions as well as provides them with practical knowledge as well. This practice should be extended to universities as well. It is very much possible that students have a broad range of interest which moves beyond their one major field of study. This passion for various fields should not be dampened. On the contrary, it should be encouraged by providing them with an option of choosing minor subjects as well.

A good education goes beyond professional expertise in one field. An appreciation of arts and aesthetics might motivate somebody to enroll in courses related to culture, arts and history. It is never a bad idea to inculcate some light interests away from the competitiveness of one's core study area. Various subjects have a lot of practical applicability too. For example, a students majoring in applied chemistry can really use subjects like financial management, or accounting in order to build basic capacities to responsibly manage his finances. Similarly, there can be other subjects like gender studies, history of reform movements, etc. which can help students to better understand the society they live in. These subjects can help in building thoughtful, empathetic citizens out of students.

The curriculum should be decided in a manner which affords students a choice of various minor subjects they want to take. The decision should not be forced upon anyone. Also, these peripheral subjects should be taught in a manner so as to not impinge upon the major of the student. The bottomline of the approach must be to focus on one, but involvement in many. After all, university education must prepare for the real world and at the same time help in exploring your interests and passion as well as become informed members of the society. Hence, major fields of study must be supplemented with other courses of study as well.