All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.Write a response in which you discu

Companies face different sets of problems all the time. To solve those problems companies engage external consultants, so that they can suggest ways through which company can operate with more efficiency. This can be accomplished by listening to own employees also. Although, I would tend to support the employment of outside consultants for specific problem solving relating to operating efficiency.

First of all, we all agree that employees who are working inside the organization are the best people to observe and suggest ways to improve. As a first step companies look internally for solutions. However, we must understand that employees who are working in organization have different point of view than an external consultant. Employees having internal focus can only suggest ways which they seem appropriate while a consultant which is an expert of the field, has better understanding and work experience visualizes the problem as a whole. Hence, an external consultant could provide better solutions from his/her experience, expertise and approach of problem solving.

It is known fact that employees are biased with regards to their organization and most of the time hold negative opinion of their organization. It might well be the case that while suggesting ways to become better in operating efficiency, employee might give a biased solution which may not be best suited for the organization. While an outside consultant can visualize and solve the problem without any bias and prejudice. Even though their solution may also fail, but they will work by remaining professional and suggest solutions which are the best.

Consultants being outside organization have little engagement with people inside the organization than in professional capacity. This way, the chances are slim for them being dragged in petty office politics, which is as damaging as biased opinions. In fact, politics can bolster the potential opinion bias with respect to any problem.

Although, consultants are highly paid. We must also take into consideration the level of expertise they bring to the table. Employees are hired for a specific role in the company and they expected to perform that particular role. Considering that companies cannot afford to engage employees for specific problem solving as well as in strategic matters. Most of the times, they are incapable of doing such things too by having less domain knowledge and time. Hence, it makes sense of company to hire consultants to solve problems.

As conclusion we can say, consultants are technically better equipped, focused, free from internal bias and office politics. These qualities are better suited to solve a problem related to improving operating efficiency. Even though consultants may cost more than regular employee but the way a consultant tackle and invest a problem, employees cannot be assumed to do that.