The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Young generation is often seen as progressive and torch bearers of the relay that we call development of society and nation. Cooperation and competition, have their fundamental differences in the way it is accomplished. However, depending on either of the two would be inefficient way to progress by any society or nation. Cooperation brings people together and manifests a sense of collective responsibility towards other member of the society. Whereas, competition breeds from fighting spirit and an eagerness to improve to perform better than your competitor. If a society wants to develop young people for leadership roles. It must must focus on exposing young people to the combination of both concepts, as both have their inherent flaws and strengths.

Cooperation is a always a mutual feeling, common benefit is the highest aim for any set of people engaged in cooperation. It has been observed that cooperation is rampant in society where there is apparent dearth of resources. Members forming collectives to help each other in case of adversities. This works as a safety net for people struggling to arrange sufficient resources of their living. Whereas, competition in itself a sense of establishing superiority over competitor. Competition begs people to keep innovating keep innovating to stay ahead and also envision the future. It keeps people on their toes all the time and poses many real world critical questions.

Both the concepts are different and complex, to a degree that once society chooses either of them there is nearly no turning back. Cooperation is much more complex concept than competition, where for every decision to be taken, a mass consensus is required from all members. On top of it, there is always a sense of inequity among members and a sense of distrust about the the way cooperation is being done. However, cooperation also yields virtues, such as building consensus, team spirit, importance of help and support. There are some traits a society would want in their young generation.

While, competition enables people to think ahead of the time and keep innovating. It sometimes becomes the compulsion for participants in competition to keep innovating just for sake of it otherwise if they will not innovate they will lag behind. Competition, as we observed manifested by spread of capitalism, which in turn caused uses unfair practices as well as harming the nature. It is not a particular correct way of doing things and people do diverge from standard practices to develop better ideas and hence harming ecosystem around them. Competition though develops vision, critical thinking, innovation and though leadership among its participants and society wants these skills in young people too.

Hence, in my view society must strive to strike a balance between the two and should facilitate the exposure between the two. People of different kind and thinking would like either of them, they should be free to chose. However, society must ensure the necessary skills are there in young generation to carry on the development process either by cooperation or competition.