The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

If we go through some of the breakthrough research papers, we seldom see any seminal work being done by a lone researcher; more often than not it is a collaboration of like-minded individuals that drives the phenomenal results. This is also the case across different domains ranging from sports to business.

As more commonly said - "Two brains working together is more powerful than them working individually", one can argue that collaboration results in developing more intricate details of an idea as opposed to one individual doing the entirety of the task. Since humans are inherently flawed, it is very likely that the person might miss some of the essential details of the task at hand. So, another pair of eyes is definitely handy to identify and solve the possible mistakes.

For instance, we can analyze the field of programming. Suppose a lone developer is building the entire software, it will be biased towards the strengths and weaknesses of that particular developer. It is very hard to ensure that there are no loopholes in this kind of systems as it is solely based on one person's logic and it is not verified by anyone else. If we instigated a sense of competition instead of cooperation among the two programmers to compete against each other to finish a task, it would create a sense of urgency and it is likely that both of them might end up doing a sloppy work.

However, there are some instances where the task demands to be done entirely by a single individual. A perfect example of this can be taken by the world of art where we seldom see collaborative work. This argument can be supported by looking into the famous masterpieces throughout the history like the Mona Lisa. In this case, if there was an intervention of fellow artists it is likely that the artwork would be adulterated and the end result might not have been as impressive as it is now.

Going along the lines of the above arguments, it is better to prepare young people of a society to instill a sense of cooperation instead of competition.