Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However,since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations,we cannot permit

The author in the passage has first argued in favor of inoculations against cow flu and later himself presented a counter argument that routine inoculations cannot be permitted. However, we will analyze the inherent assumptions and specific evidence needed to evaluate the argument.

Cow flu has been mentioned as cause of many deaths in the areas where cow flu was detected. Author has not presented any specific data to corroborate the statement. We do not know actually how many people lost there lives due to cow flu. It could be any number and we cannot ascertain from the argument that what was the actual number.

It would be interesting to know that what is the duration of effectiveness of inoculation. If we know the frequency with which the inoculation need to administered, it would be easy to plan as well as understand that was it actually the cause which was responsible for deaths in the region.

Second part of the argument states that there is very small possibility that a person would die as a result of inoculations and hence it cannot be permitted against cow flu to be routinely administered. I agree with author that indeed every life is important and every individual has a right to live. However, the exact probability of a person dying due to inoculation should be presented. If, for example, there is one in a million probability of a person dying due to inoculation and we have a thousand in a million people dying due to non administration, we must evaluate the position seriously. This can be either way too if cost in terms of peoples lives is too high than lives saved.

Also, we would need to know the cow flu detection mechanisms. Are we correctly able to identify disease symptoms and spread area? Are we able to demarcate the region where it is spreading? Is there presence of medical services? Can the flu treated at an early stage? Is there another way to solve the cow flu problem?

As a matter of fact, we would also require evidence from medical researchers that there is no alternative to inoculations against cow flu. As well as, the prevention mechanisms. If we have a safe alternative available to inoculation then inoculation can be eliminated from the picture as well as if prevention is possible, then a public awareness program needs to be developed.

Hence, in all fairness we need some substantial evidence to evaluate the argument such as the extent of people deceased due to cow flu, frequency of inoculation administration, possibility figures of people losing their lives due to inoculation as well as any available safe alternative to inoculation and prevention mechanism if any. If we can find these evidences then it will prudent to evaluate both measures of introduction of another measure such as alternative method of inoculation.