The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the argument presented, the business manager of a television station is making a case for restoring the broadcast time for weather and local news to previous level before it was eclipsed by national news. This should be done in order to ensure increased viewership and avoid losing advertising revenue. This argument is based on certain tall assumptions. Additional information is required to evaluate the argument and test its veracity.

Firstly, the argument states that a majority of the complaints received in the year gone by are related to the stations's coverage of weather and local news. However, the memo does not elucidate on the nature of the complaints. Further evidence is required on whether the viewers were specifically complaining about the reduced telecast time of the weather and local news. It can be the case that the complaints were not really about the increase in time but rather other issues like the quality of news being presented, moving the weather and local news to a different time slot, etc. Until and unless a nature of the complaints is understood we cannot jump to the conclusion that viewers are demanding an increase in the telecast time of weather and local news.

This brings us the relationship between increased viewership and increased time devoted to local and weather news. A causal relationship has been established of the latter on the former in the argument without any evidence. Even if the complaints being received are demanding more time for weather and local news, there is no proof whether this will lead to an increase in viewership. Further information regarding the aggregate viewer base of the TV station, and viewership base for various news segments is required to make any conclusion. It can be the case that increasing the time allotted to local and weather news will bring in new viewers but by cutting back on national news, or some other segment, there will be bigger loss of viewership resulting in a net decrease in viewership. Hence, information regarding the viewership trends needs to be presented to substantiate the argument being presented by the business manager.

Lastly, evidence is required to prove that the local businesses that have canceled their advertisement contract with the TV station is because of the reduction in telecast time of local and weather news. It is possible that the local advertisers got a better deal by other local TV stations, or that they cutting back on advertising through television media and investing in other advertising media. The bottomline is that strong evidence is required to prove that increasing the time for local and weather news would necessarily help in not losing further advertising revenues. Such evidence would surely strengthen the otherwise wobbly argument.

In conclusion, the business managers's memo comes across as an entirely unsubstantiated piece which carries no evidence whatsoever on the causal relationship between viewership and local and weather news segment. Consequently, the suggestions made are also not rooted in logic. They have to be bolstered by presenting further evidence and additional information as mentioned in the preceding paragraphs and only then can the argument be evaluated wholly.