The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station Over the past year our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news During this time period most of the co

The business manger of a television station states that the station has received complaints from the viewers and the local businesses have cancelled their advertising contracts after the channel has devoted more time to the national new that to the weather and the local news.

The manager states that most of the complaints received were concerned with the coverage of weather and the local news. But it does not clarify the concerned time of the users. The station has reduced the weather and the local news only in the late-night program. To prove that it is true, we need evidence that the viewers view the weather and the local news only in the night program. Otherwise, it can be said that the viewers are not contended with the coverage of the weather and local news of the programs telecasted throughout the day. We need evidence that the telecast of the weather and the local news throughout the day is as per the required standards.

The businesses can cancel their advertising contracts for a number of reasons. Maybe, there aren't the required number of viewers to view the advertisements late in the night. To strengthen the argument we also need evidence that the businesses are cancelling their advertising contracts as there is less telecast of the local news.

The manager wants to restore the time devoted to weather and the local news to avoid losing further revenues. But the loss in the revenues cannot depend only on one program. It depends upon the content shown by the channel through out the day, the viewership and the reach of the channel and the competition of the channel in the market. To strengthen the argument we need evidence that the television station has a large viewership at night without any news station competitors.