Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Today the world has become multi-disciplinary. Just acquiring knowledge related to only one's field has become obsolete. So, the universities should prepare the students for the changing times. So I partly do agree with the statement.

Taking a course outside the field of study can bring about the overall development of the students. Now, if technical students are offered with language classes and professional communication classes, it will be prove to very beneficial to the students in their future work places. My university also offers us courses like 'The Constitution of India' and 'Intellectual property rights'; where we get to learn about the law and the rights offered by the constitution.

The engineering sector is well versed with the multi - disciplinary angle. A Mechanical Engineering student can opt for courses related to the electronics field or the electrical field. As we can see, in the modern times nothing is pure mechanical. The branch we can say has now evolved into a branch called mechatronics. So, it will better if the students are well aware about the advancements.

On the other hand, taking different courses can also be tedious for some students. They may lose focus of the courses in their platter and may feel the outside courses to be a burden. It can be possible that the student may not be interested in taking any of the offered courses. There is also a possibility that the student is also active in extra-curricular activities like sports, drama, etc. and may find taking outside courses tiring.

In order to sum up, the students should be offered to take outside courses, but should not be mandated.