Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

A lot can be understood about the society on the basis of the political leader they select. And governing a nation is task of utmost responsibility. Many a times the political leaders might face a crisis in choosing between 'what the people want' and 'what is right for the society'.

Political leaders always come across the decision making conundrum. Every country has their own cultural, political history. So the way of leading each nation is different. For instance, India is a country with 28 states and over 19000 different languages or dialects with so many different religious beliefs. So there is bound to happen some clashes or quarrels. So a leader cannot pass a decision just for the approbation from a majority of people. He should see that no injustice is done to any group of people. A lot of livelihoods do depend on the decision taken by the leaders and it is their duty to serve people and refrain from thinking about personal or political benefits in the line of duty.

Therefore, in my opinion the leader should remain consistent to particular principles.