In order for any work of art for example a film a novel a poem or a song to have merit it must be understandable to most people Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your re

Art is a form of expressing a emotion, idea or a perspective. Art can be in the form of music, literature, paintings, sculpture, theatre, etc. Different people have liking towards different forms of art. Seldom do we find someone who is a pundit in all forms of art.

Most of the people also see the works of art like the films and songs only as a means of entertainment and enjoyment to get themselves a relief from the stress they get in their daily life. So we see action movies or rom-coms making more at the box office. But more people watching those movies doesn't imply that they were fantastic pieces of art. It can also mean they were easily understood, they had the romance, the action, the drama which people enjoy watching.

We can look of another example of the movie Interstellar, directed by Christopher Nolan, was not understood by most of the people. The movie deals with the time and space theories which cannot be understood by everyone but only by those who know or understand basic physics. But still was critically acclaimed.

So, according to me, the merit of the art cannot be decided based on whether it is understood by majority of the people or not. To decide the merit we really look into the studies of experts.