The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee — a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve overall productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The personnel director of the ACME publishing company is of the opinion that all the ACME employees should take the easy read course.The author's argument does not seem well thought and in turn can be a liability for the company.

The Personnel Director states that many companies have an increase in their productivity after the employees taking the course. He also gives examples of two of the employees taking the course. One employee was able to read a 500 page report in two hours. But we do not have any information on the content of the report. Maybe the report mainly comprises of pictures and figures rather than text. The person finished reading the document in 2 hours, but his does not necessarily mean that the person has understood the document.The author says one of the employees was able to rise from a position of assistant manager to the position of Vice President in under a year. The rise in position of the employees cannot solely rely on his ability of reading fast. Rather also depends on his skill set and the dedication and the hard work he has put in.

The Personnel Director says that $500 per employee is a small price to pay as compared to the benefits.If the company has a large number of employees it becomes a very huge amount of sum for the company to pay. Moreover, a three week seminar to Spruce City is provided in this fee. If all the employees are to attend this three week seminar, who is supposed to run the company. We also need to know where exactly is Spruce city located. If it is located somewhere far away, the travelling costs and the lodging costs will have to be paid by the employees. We don't know whether they will be afford the costs.

The personnel director has said that all the employees should take up the course. The company employees also include the janitor and the watchman. Their job profile does not demand them to be able to read fast. So we need to know which all positions are required to take up the course.

Thus, the personnel director of Acme should not make any hasty decisions about the Easy Read course, as it may prove to be a waste of time and money for the organization. Issues regarding the cost and long term effectiveness of the course should be thoroughly investigated before the director's recommendation.