The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

The author of the current report discusses the concern of the council of the Maple County about the county becoming overdeveloped. Therefore, the council is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county.

The proponents of the measure point out the example of the Chestnut County whose housing prices have increased only modestly after implementing same measure. The opponents of the measure state that the Pine County adopted the measures fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have more than doubled. The housing prices also depend on the population in the county and the population migrating in and out of the county which indirectly depends upon the employment opportunities. So, if there is not much demand of housing, the prices wont go up. So we need to know whether there are similar job opportunities available in the Pine and the Chestnut County.

The measures in the Chestnut and the Pine county were adopted ten years and fifteen years ago respectively. In such long periods of time that housing rents are expected to increase. But, the housing rents have increased modestly in the Chestnut county and become more than double in the Pine County. Therefore, we need to know whether the value of money ten or fifteen years ago is same as the value of money in the present times.

The council is of the opinion that if the measure is passed, it will result in significant increase in the housing rents. So, we cannot predict that the proposed measure will only result in the significant increase in the housing prices. We also need to know that the Maple County is similar to which of the two County's in respect to the geographical location, the employment rate, population and the availability of amenities like schools, colleges, hospitals, etc.

Therefore, the prediction of the council based only of the study of the two County's is not right. They also need to ponder upon the above mentioned points and also take more number of County's into consideration for studying, before making predictions.