According to a new report from the federal government, overall donations of money to nonprofit groups increased last year. Most notably, donations to international aid groupsincreased by 30 percent, followed by donations to environmental groups, which inc

Author of the essay made a sweeping conclusion that people actually value education less than they did in the past. Although the author tried to strengthen the argument by introducing several data points as well as statements. However, all of those are very much flawed in my view and the argument needs to be augmented with precise data points and associated statements.

Author starts by mentioning that overall donations to nonprofits increased over last year. With special mention of international aid groups and environmental groups getting larger share of the pie, while educational institutions donations were reduced by 3%. I find inherent weakness in the argument, that we do not know what is the actual educational expenditure required for the whole year. If we have the required figures then we can actually compare whether we are falling short or able to cover the educational expenses. Also we should note one important point is that international development and environmental concerns could also be equally concerning, but we cannot conclusively point out that due to increased donations to other sectors, focus on education has been lost somewhere.

Author argues that "economic indicators suggest consumer spending is higher than average this year". It might indeed be correct but author failed to present the stated economic indicators as well as the benchmark for average spending. It might well be the case that due to inflation average of last year would no longer be the average of current year. Hence, the benchmark also needs to be shifted after adjusting for inflation. If we do that then the picture could be totally different than what has been presented.

Author also argues that only rich and wealthy people are potential donors and their spending on luxury products has risen, hence they could have ample disposable income to donate. Author in this argument assumes that all wealthy people are potential donors, which could be true. However, their spending on luxury products should in no way indicate the amount the disposable income they have. It could be the case that such people have to maintain higher social standard and hence they have to spend huge chunks of money on luxury products. There is no way to determine the wealth of a person and propensity of him/her making a donation.

Finally, the federal report do not discuss about the institutional donations. Author primarily argues over individual donations ignoring a huge aspect of institutional donations. Had author mentioned about the amount breakup of individual and institutional donations we would have more evidence to draw conclusion over the argument. But, keeping in mind the flaws of argument as discussed above, it cannot be conclusively inferred that people value education less than they did in the past.