Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument states that inoculations against cow flu cannot be routinely administered since there is a small possibility of a person dying because of it. This argument should be evaluated in detail with the help of additional evidence in order to establish its veracity.

Firstly, the very small possibility of death due to inoculation should be quantified. It can be possible that the number is so low that is is almost unfeasible for the death to actually occur. There is a possibility of death in undertaking several routine things like taking a flight, swimming in the ocean, going for camping etc. But the quantification of this possibility helps us in better understanding just how dangerous a particular thing is. It is also possible that in a cow flu detected area, the possibility of a person dying from disease might be much higher than the possibility of dying from the inoculation. In such a scenario, the argument will be severely weakened since it is always better to choose the less dangerous option than to do nothing at all. Data regarding the possible deaths in case of cow flu breakout and possible deaths due to inoculation is required to get a realistic idea on whether the decision to not administer inoculation is a wise decision. In case the cow flu epidemic is emerging as a bigger threat to lives than inoculation then the argument is severely weakened.

Secondly, evidence is required on whether there are other factors which contribute to the possibility of death as result of inoculation. Data is required to ascertain whether inoculation acts as an independent variable or are there other dependent variables which are giving rise to the lethal nature being ascribed to the inoculation. There can be other factors like hygiene while administering the inoculation, possible allergies, or inordinate amount of the medicine which is causing the possibility of death. These options have to be explored. If no such evidence is found then the argument is strengthened somewhat that the cow flu inoculation does, in fact, pose a threat to life.

Information regarding a possible antidote or ameliorating drug is also required. If there is a medicine or vaccine which coupled with the inoculation can nullify its life threatening qualities then the inoculation can still be permitted to be administered. Any evidence in this direction severely weakens the argument.

Therefore, the argument presented should be evaluated further on the basis of strong evidence and data which quantifies the possibility of death by inoculation, a comparison of possible deaths, other factors contributing to the death by inoculations and possible methods in which to further decrease or eliminate the threat imposed by the cow flu inoculation. After this evidence only can the argument be well discussed and concluded.