People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is said that man is a creature of circumstances. In other words, it is the situation in which he finds himself that shape his life and destiny. These circumstances are not always something that he can control. Sometimes circumstances can force a person to abandon his free will in favour of actions that seem appropriate at the time. Hence, it can be said that people's behaviour is governed by forces which are not of their own making.

There are many instances which bring forth this scenario. Living in a society, people's behaviour is strongly influenced by certain unspoken norms and values of the society which they inhabit. In a society practicing caste system there are laid down rules according to which one must function. In case a person fails to observe these rules then it can lead to a lot of hardships and public persecution. These norms may have been formulated centuries ago but they still govern the lifestyle of various communities. In such cases, even if a person wishes to carve out a place for himself/herself which challenges such notions it comes at a huge cost. Many times the risk of exercising one's free will is so huge that people let such extraneous forces control their behaviour without question. Somewhat similar is the case for women in regressive, chauvinistic societies.

It cannot be denied that our surroundings play a pivotal role in shaping us as people and also influencing our behaviour. Even when we look at equal societies not prescribing to any orthodox practices, socital accpetance and validity plays a key role in the decision making process of people. Whether it is the selection of a profession, the decision to settle down and get married, or to have children; there are situations in which a person abandons his/her beliefs and convictions to make decisions which are heavily influenced by other people. This acceptance by our peer groups also leads to many otherwise calm people to participate in violent mobs targetting specific groups of people. There are many instances of absolutely harmless, moderate minded people of resorting to violent means in the frenzy of an enraged mob.

Even when we feel that we are making choices out of free will, without any other person's influence we forget that there might be other factors at play. Sometimes these forces can be non living entities like our circumstances. People have to make sacrifices for near and dear ones, make choices keeping in mind the happiness of family which might not always be an exercise in free will.

Hence, it is an absolute acknowledgement of the truth that people's behaviour is determined by forces not of their own making. These forces can take different forms like peer pressure, financial contraints, societal expectation etc.