People who make decisions based on emotions and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers

People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are indeed poor decision makers. Although, one can argue that decisions, from their very nature vary considerably depending on myriad reasons, contexts and abilities. In that sense one person can make different decisions on same problem in different context and environment.

However, decision making process itself involves a lot of iterative thinking on part of decision maker. Decision can be based on emotions or logic. To make the decision person must think critically and use all the available information so that best decision can be taken. In case it is a emotional decision then the person must evaluate all the emotional outcomes before finalizing the decision. However, once a decision relating to emotions are taken it should not be justified later because logic was not at all used in the process of decision making.

Sometime, during decision making process, there is a trade off between logic and emotion. In those situations person has to either establish a balance between the two or choose any one of those. In any selected scenario justification cannot be provided at a later stage if either of them were not part of evaluation process.

For example, in professional setup during meetings and conferences, some people tend to speak anything which comes in their mind related to strategy irrespective of any factual evidence or data backing. Later on when asked about explanation, they usually use logic and weird data to substantiate their statements. This behavior is not ideal for any human being where a proper evaluation of every context and problem is important before reaching any conclusion.

To conclude, I would mention that first we must understand the decision making process and gather as much information as possible whether it is emotional or logical. Then we must extrapolate cause and effects of all the available data points or outcomes based on emotions. Then only based on available choices decisions should be taken. It is slipshod on part of a person to first take the decision and then justify.