Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument presented has made several assumptions and presents a convoluted logic to justify the termination of student evaluation of professors introduced 15 years ago. Without the evaluation of specific evidence pertaining to several aspects of the argument, it would be difficult to reach a concrete solution.

It is contended that since the student evaluation of professors was introduced there has been an increase of 30% in the grades on an average. An assumption has been made that since the professors are being evaluated by students they tend to give them unjustifiably good grades in order to get good student evaluations. This assumption has not been substantiated with any kind of data. Strong evidence is required on whether this practice is indeed true. It can be the case, that Omega University has actually started admitting really brilliant students whose academic prowess is better than previous batches and the spike in average grades is entirely due to the academic diligence of the students. Therefore, evidence related to the causal link between the student evaluation and increased grades has to be found. If any such evidence is unearthed then the argument will be strengthened.

The increase in the grades has led to potential employers assuming that Omega university inflates the grades of its students and does not truly reflect student achievement. Evidence regarding this practice has to be first evaluated. Concrete evidence suggesting such malpractice has to be established. Even if is corroborated that the increased grades are not a reliable indicator of student achievements, specific evidence is required to claim that student evaluation is the reason for this inflation of grades. For example, if evidence is found out which suggests that the same quality of assignments etc. submitted by students have started getting higher grades due to a relaxed grading policy of the university, independent of the student evaluations, then the argument will be weakened.

A comparison has also been made with Alpha University whose students have apparently got better job opportunities than Omega University's students. Evidence is required to firmly establish that the suggested inflation of grades is the reason for students to not get better job opportunities. Information regarding Alpha university's recruitment process as well as average grades of students should help in understanding whether Omega university grades really do come across as over the top. The reason for Alpha university's better job opportunities can be due to several other factors like better curriculum or a better placement committee at the university. In case these other factors are considered more important by recruiters in offering job opportunities to students then the argument is weakened. Also, the argument goes in a roundabout manner in suggesting that doing away with the student evaluation will result in better job opportunities for students. Evidence regarding the singular effect of terminating student evaluation is required since there can be several factors influencing jobs on offer, as mentioned earlier.

Hence, the idea to terminate student evaluation of professors is based on some lofty assumptions which have not been substantiated with any evidence. Information regarding the real reasons for the rise in grades, the role grades play in job placement and also evidence on Alpha university's supposed better placements is required before terminating the student evaluation system.