The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company."According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any

The author of the memo have made a series of sweeping assumptions in his/her argument and then recommending solution to the problem without properly analyzing all associated internal and external factors as well as eliminating assumptions. The opinions and arguments presented lack logical evidence and hence need further evaluation whether recommendation is well rounded.

There are a series of serious questions that need to be posed to the author. First being, what is the trend of people attending movie screenings in general? Based on the data obtained, it must be evaluated how super screen movie company did with respect to the ongoing trend. Moreover, there are technological advancements all the time, and author must evaluate that too. For example, are people more inclined towards watching movies at home or on their handheld devices? As a matter of fact author can also look at the sales number of home theater systems to ascertain how that could affect people attending movie screenings.

The author has emphasized a lot on movie reviews and reasoned that it has not reaching the common public. The question which comes now is what are the parameters on which reviews write their reviews? Are they consistent across reviewers? It may well be the case that critics are praising the movie for it's aesthetic value whereas audience like music or cinematography. What is appalling in the argument of author, is there is no emphasis put on the taste and preferences of the audience. Is there enough evidence present with the company to know which type of movies to be produced or they just want to collect reviewer medals without giving any minuscule consideration to audiences. I would recommend the author to commission a study to understand the taste and preferences of the audiences.

At the same time, author must also look at the movie production ecosystem to understand whether there is a shift in content of the contemporary movies. It may well be the case that author's company is engaged in producing horror movies while people in general like romantic comedy movies. This can have a significant strategic effect because people will just be averse to the idea of going to a horror movie than a romantic comedy. Author must also evaluate whether there is a change in movie screening prices. It would be interesting to know if screen owners have increased the prices and as a result people are staying away from movies, despite movies garnering best reviews.

Overall, the problem seems way complex than assumed by author in the note. There could be myriad internal as well as external factor which could affect the attendance of people attending movie screening. All of them need to be evaluated fastidiously. Then based on results, the recommendation should be given. Hence, current recommendation of the author must be shelved and it can be considered after completion of the evaluation free of any inherent assumption.