"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather an

Author's argument that restoring the time devoted to weather and local news should be able to increase viewership and avoid losing advertising revenue is sounding logical based on other statements. However, we need to have strong quantitative evidences to support the idea whether return to former level would indeed be as beneficial as it has been assumed.

First of all, we would need the daily viewership numbers for both pre change and post change. This should tell us if viewers are not liking the change in general. It would be interesting to see the viewership accumulated by rival stations in the same time slot. If we are losing out to competitors then it can be a convincing argument that local and weather news is indeed important for viewers. If that is not the case then, we should look at other potential problems.

We would also need to check, actually how many complaints were raised against the change and compare the complaints against total viewership. We should understand that people sometimes show reluctance to accept change and might not like change due to the same bias. We would also like to know the crux of all complaints on quantitative basis, that what is the real reason behind complaints or we had the same level of complaints in the past and it is following the same trend. If there is a correlation in past and present then this change is having minimal effect.

We should also investigate the cancellation of advertising contracts during the late night show. We need to check whether there is a slowdown in the local economy by any means. Importantly, it would be beneficial if we can understand the type of product being advertised in the past and the demand of the same currently. It could be possible that demand of such products have gone down or inelastic so that advertisers do not feel the need to promote the product anymore. Similarly, we need to check the advertising rates of station in question as well as other stations. If others are giving value for money options then, it may be the case that advertisers are moving to them. One more thing we should check, is there reduction in advertising across all stations in the same time slot.

Hence, strong numerical evidences are required to evaluate whether we need to revert to former level or not. There could be external and internal factor ranging from viewership and number of complaints to broad economic factors such as slowdown in product demand and companies cutting advertising costs.