"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The following argument is not cogent as it lacks essential evidences that are necessary in determining its validity. Primarily, the argument suggests that advertisement revenues have been lost as a result of their program and its main conclusion asserts that reverting the program to its previous order will remedy the loss. Ideally, this is not guaranteed thus rendering the conclusion unwarranted.

The argument suggests that the program devoted more time to national news and not weather or local news; complaints have been made though the nature and extent of the complaints has not been lucidated. Therefore, one cannot really ascertain that indeed complaints have been made. Who made the compliants? Many viewers or just a few individuals making numerous complaints. Without this information, one cannot objectively deduce that the program is indeed ineffective. The author should have clearly stated the nature and extent of these complaints so as to make his case strong.

In addition, the author heavily relies on the assumption that advertisement revenue was lost as a result of the program sturcture. Though this may hold true, only the advertising clients may really give a reason of terminating their contracts. They may have left after recieving cheaper deals from other stations, or perhaps resorted to cutting their internal budget. As such, the assumption is quite subjective as the author should rely on feedback given by the clients themselves rather than speculations. If the clients attest that they terminated the contracts on the new programs accounts, then this would strengthen the argument and if otherwise, the arguments would definitely be weakened.

The author also recommends that their old program be restored based on the assumptions aforementioned so as to solve the revenue loss and perhaps gain more veiwers. Deciding on his/her recommendation however would only be prudent if his/her claims are proved to be true as well as further insight. Until then, the station should factor in other factors. They may do this through conducting an extensive and relevant study by collecting data from their clients and the viewers alike. The argument would be warranted if more evidence is provided.

In conclusion, the argument may only be warranted if the author proves his/her claims and most importantly, if he provided more valid evidences supporting his claims.