"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather an

The manager worries about the complaints from the viewers and loss of adevertisements contract from the local business. In the beginning, the manager said it is the increasing tme of national news with declining times of local news and weather report that make some viewer complain about the change. And because of cancelling the advertising contracts with the local business, the television station will suffer the loss from it. So on this ocassion ,the manager suggest that the televsion station should shift the time portion of later-night news and expand them to all of their news programs. There are some problems I need to call into questions.

First of all, the compains from viewers cannot be on be behalf of all the viewer's opinions. Without the mentioning that how many complaints from the viewers and how much portion of these complaints they take in the whole viewers' views, we cannot make the conclusion that all the viewers doesn't like the shift times in late night news. There is a possibility that only a small part of viewers do not like the more national news and less local news, however, others feel like this changing. As we do not know how many compaints recerived by the TV station, there is no obvious proof that this shift is not a wise choice.

What's more, the manager wants to increase the local news and weather report time, it is also arbitrary to make such descision. The author dosen't prove us the previous problem that whether the whole viewers like the shift of times in late night news. With out this reference, we cannnot conclude whether the viewers really like more national news or not, the reason for changing to please some of the viewers who complaints is not a wise choice,too.

Meanwhile , the manager worries about the potential loss from the cancelling to the adevertising contract with local business. Instead of looking for new partener, the manager tends to increase more time of local news and weather report on all the programs. I believe this is the third point which is not a wise choice. With no survey of what we discuss before and intending to expand the program to all Channels of the TV station, I thing it will be dangerous to the whole TV station by doing so. Ths manager should make better plan for the revenue of the TV station.

In conclusion ,the manager's descision by the judgement of some viewers' compaints should be reconsidered, because part of the views do not represent the whole attitudes toward the shift time of programs. With the concern of potential lost in revenue, the manager should make a better survey on the shift times.