New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

New technologies have certainly changed the way children spend their free time. New technological ways incite them to be more creative and learn while there are serious disadvantages associated too. Such as, lack of communal activities, becoming slave to technology, engagement with virtual world and lack of physical activities. In my view, the disadvantages overshadow advantages immensely which we will discuss in upcoming arguments.

First of all there is no doubt that technology opens up new realm of learning for children. New learning mechanisms are marketed as fun way of learning means children have to do simulations, activities and experiments in a funny way which acts as catalyst in learning without being boring, which children often feel with books.

Learning is certainly an advantage but first major disadvantage is the lack of human touch and interaction during technology led learning. Engagement with other children and other human being is of utmost importance for evolution and development of children. This aspect seriously overlooked by technology led learning. Sometimes, virtual classes or lectures are delivered, but it is all virtual!

Secondly, Children engaging with technology makes them slaves of modern games and other fun activities. Sometimes, if not monitored by parents, could lead to really troublesome situations. As we have already witnessed with the "Blue Whale" game. The game itself was depressing and children were too naive to understand the consequences before hand. Other downside is the lack of physical activities. This lack of physical activity is inflicting serious long term illnesses at a very young age. There is now a universal deficiency of vitamin C among young people. Reason being, not enough exposure to the sun. Past generations spent most of their free time in outdoor activities, sports and games. Which improved physical health and wellness. Such activities also teaches children more about team work, collective action, responsibility etc, which are traits we want to see in younger generations.

Finally, enhanced use of technology by children during their free time, make them more individualistic. Individuals should think of themselves as well but being individualistic keeps them away from society and all related activities. Resulting less interaction among people and people feeling socially awkward while in company of many people. This is an increasing trend and most of it can be attributed to the individualistic nature. Hence, in my view technological interventions are okay but children should be kept away from it till they achieve a certain age where use of technology could be suitable for them. Maybe we can think of introducing technology to children once they reach teenage.