The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The director of student housing at Buckingham College has made a case for the construction of new dormitories in the college. Several reasons for an increased student population in the coming years has been cited which need to be further supported with necessary evidence to give more thrust to this policy.

Firstly, the anticipated increase in future enrollments based on current trends needs to substantiated with further data. Evidence on the regionality of the students would help in determining whether there is an increase in local student population or outstation students. In case the steady increase is due to more local student enrollments than the latter, then an increase in dormitory space might not be needed at all. Evidence is also needed on whether this increase in students will continue in the years to come from an admissions' policy point of view. Even if the applications received are on a rise, the admissions committee of the college might make a decision to limit the number of seats, and resultantly the enrollments each year. If there is any evidence to the contrary, i.e., the seats in fact be increased then the argument will have more credibility.

Secondly, evidence is needed to better understand the connection between the increase in apartment rates and the purchasing power of students. Even though apartment rates have climbed in recent years the average income of households might have seen a commensurate or even higher increase. In that case the argument will be weakened. There is also evidence required on whether college dormitory and apartments outside college are the only two available options for prospective students. Even if apartments have been rendered too dear, there might be other economical, off campus options like paying guest rooms or off campus dormitories. The presence of such options can also undermine the argument of whether the college needs to increase its dormitories.

Thirdly, stronger evidence is required whether attractive dormitories indeed are a substantial influencer in increasing student enrollments. They might be correlated but a strong causation relationship of the former on the latter is required to give the director's appeal more teeth. There can be other factors which play a bigger role in affecting decisions of prospective students like the academic departments, faculty, extra curricular activities, reasonable tuition fees. Even if attractive dormitories play a role in the decision making, but just a minute one, then this factor does not do much to strengthen the argument.

To summarise, the director's concern regarding the increased enrollments and expansion of dormitories cannot be weighed in properly without properly understanding the context in which it has been made. For this it is necessary to gather further evidence for all the statements on which this claim is based as mentioned above. These shall help the college to make a call on whether new dormitories are really something which the college should invest in.