Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Many people agree the claim that scientific researches should focus on the most beneficial and practical technology. However, this assertion could not be true because of several reasons, and this essay will state these reasons.

Admittedly, some people should agree that scientific studies should concern practical problem first, because the result of these researches should improve human lives, and make better society. For example, the invention of the vaccine plays critical role in improvement of human health. For instance, Penicillin, which is made by Alexander Fleming, help to exterminate the disease and eventually result in more healthy human lives. Similarly, the GMO, which is technology to modify gene of crops and increase their productivity, help human being to escape from the poverty and lack of foods. Because of these examples, it could be plausible that scientists should primarily study areas related to human being's actual life .

However, generally these concentrations on research could be harmful, because the most important aim of scientific study is not to solve practical problems, but to broaden human knowledge about the world. If scientists only examine pragmatic problems, another important problems to investigate could be overlooked, because there are only limited resources for scientific researches. For example, Isaac Newton's gravitation theory is not a consequence of practical concern. Instead, these ingenious result is made by curiosity, which is stimulated by desire to know more about nature. If Newton only concentrated on practical subjects, such as elimination of poverty or disease, gravitation theory could not be invented. Similarly, the most of the mathematical studies are irrelevant to actual human benefit, because mathematics only concerns highly abstract entities. In spite of its lack of practicableness, these mathematical researches is important, because it improves human knowledge significantly. For these examples, such as gravitation theory or mathematics, it is clear that partiality on scientific studies could hinder less useful, but more important scientific developments.

Furthermore, even though the statement assumes that the future benefit of such technologies is predictable, its benefit could not be expected correctly in reality, so that the scientific studies, which seemed to be not beneficial to human life at past, could eventually make significant benefit for humans. For example, in the early twentieth century, people and scientists could not expect that the general relativity theory of Einstein have practical benefits. However, in present, this general relativity theory is essential in GPS technology, which makes human lives more convenient. Similarly, NASA's Mars exploration project with Mars Exploration Rover, could be another case of unpredictable future benefit. It is obvious that Mars exploration project does not make immediate benefit, and its future benefit is also dubious, because Mars can be judged as inappropriate human habitat. However, this exploration project is worthy, because it could provide alternative habitats, which would be critical for survival of human species. If scientists only studies problems which makes most probable benefit, the enterprising project, which can make immeasurable benefits, can not be conducted.

In conclusion, even though scientists should focus on practical problems under certain conditions, generally they should also research seemingly unpractical problems, because such concentrations could be obstacles for progress of human knowledge, and the future benefit of research could not be predicted precisely.