Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In these days, importance of science and technology is indisputable. However, there exist debates on effectiveness of government regulations on scientific research. The author claims that there should be only few regulations on scientific study, and I largely agree with the author’s assertion. This essay will show that why this is plausible with below reasons and examples.

Firstly, government’s regulation might be harmful for scientific development, because it can impede scientists’ free thinking and ingenuity, which is the most important ability for scientific breakthrough. For example, Sir Isaac Newton’s gravitation theory came out of his own ingenuity, not from government interference. Similarly, Albert Einstein’s theory of relativity also developed through his own scientific creativity. Hypothetically speaking, if governments of their ages forced regulations and restrictions to Newton and Einstein, they cannot concentrate on scientific studies, and thus cannot create paradigm-shifting theories. For these reasons, the governments’ regulations on scientific studies would hinder the progress of science and technology.

Admittedly, some people would agree that for ethical and safe development of science, government’s regulations is necessary. If government give limitless free to scientists, there might be scientific studies that harms society and citizens. For example, in studying nuclear fission, nuclear materials are extremely dangerous for both scientists and society. Therefore government should regulate the use of nuclear atoms, to prevent potential disaster such as Chernobyl nuclear disaster. Similarly, in biological studies such as cloning technology, they should be monitored by government, and thus be guaranteed as ethical scientific research. For these reasons, some people agree that there should be some scientific regulations be government for right, ethical, and safe development.

However, the point made in preceding paragraph can be contradicted as that even if proper regulations should guide scientist to make benign progress, it is not guaranteed that governments can institute appropriate regulations. For example, in nuclear fusion researches, governments cannot make appropriate guidelines for scientists, because regulators and politicians in governments are not expert of the nuclear technology, so that they cannot provide proper restriction. Same problem can occur in bioethics. For instance, only by scientific researches of human mind and consciousness, the humanity of embryos can be determined, not by philosophical and hypothetical debates. For these reasons, even if some people agree with the benefit of appropriate regulations, it is not guaranteed that governments could make proper restrictions on scientific, specialized research.

In conclusion, I largely agree with the author’s claim, because government regulation might hinder and harm scientific researcher’s ingenuity and latitude of thinking, and thus scientific development. Even if some regulations can guide scientific studies to ethical and safe ways, it is not warranted that governments could make appropriate regulations for scientists.