Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Technologies and sciences have become increasingly important in modern society. In spite of these undoubtable significance, the actual effects of technologies on society still remain controversial. Upon this basis, the author claims that these scientific improvements make human lives more complex, rather than simple. however, I mostly agree with the author’s contention, and this essay will show why it is not always true with below reasons and examples

To begin with, it seems clear that improving technologies involve more and more complex theories and conceptions, and thus require more complicated understandings. For example, even though internet and personal computer technologies bring us a lot of convenience, there still exist problems such as lack of accessibility of aged people to the internet. this accessibility problem is derived from intricate ways in which technologies work. Not only aged person, but also many of population should face demanding problems when their computers of cell phones do not work properly, because their internal structures are so complicated and therefore these problems are too difficult to solve. Furthermore, hypothetically speaking, the ancient Greek could not apprehend modern society’s the simplest task, because the simplest job contains highly sophisticated inter processes. For theses reasons, it could be claimed that nowadays, peoples’ jobs and lives are highly complex and elaborate.

Admittedly, some people argue that their everyday lives are simpler than 100 years ago, because great scientific improvements makes people to neglect frivolous commonplace tasks. For example, through the invention of the cell phone, people are no more required to remember their families’ and friends’ phone number, and it is clearly a simpler version of life. similarly, about a century ago, people need to conduct arduous procedures to wash their cloths, but laundry machines make this washing process surprisingly simple. For these reasons, it could be asserted that improving technologies make peoples’ mundane lives simpler.

However, even though many individual lives have become simpler, it does not necessarily imply that our modern society’s simplicity. Moreover, while one’s lives are simpler than a century ago, the society is more complicated. For one, novel ethical problems emerged due to the rise of biotechnology. For example, cloning technology necessitates us to deal with ethical and philosophical questions such as ‘what is definition of human and human rights?’, which did not exist before the progress of biosciences. similarly, the field of nuclear energy and energy problems, which are made by nuclear sciences and increasing energy consumptions due to technology developments, requires us to manage interrelated and intertwined problems, such as the greenhouse effects, nuclear disasters, and alternative energies. For these reasons, even if individual’s lives are simplified, the whole society’s complexity is largely increased.

In conclusion, it could be said that our lives are more complicated with technologies than without technologies, because they contain inherent complexities. even though some argues that their everyday lives are simpler because of scientific developments, the whole society’s complexity has become higher because the technologies bring novel and correlated problems to us.