People should undertake risky action only after they have carefully considered its consequences.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Generally, many decisions which result in huge effects also involve high risks. When people make these actions with both high risks and high returns, the author asserts that they primarily should contemplate about future results of the decision. However, because the author’s claim is not helpful for possible enormous benefits, I largely disagree with the author’s contention and this essay will show why I disagree with the author’s claim.

To begin with, the consideration of upcoming outcomes could hinder actual effort. Obviously, these deliberations need much resources, such as time, or government power. Thus, excessive ponderations about the ramifications would be wasteful, and therefore hinders the future advantage. For example, let’s consider about the case of the president Lincoln and the Emancipation Law. Hypothetically speaking, if Lincoln did not make decisions and only thought about possible consequences, such as economic recession of the southern USA, the Emancipation Law might be instituted many years later, and more African American slaves would be suffered for longer period.

Admittedly, some people agree that considerations on results in necessary in certain situation, because the possible consequence might be greatly harmful, so people should prevent these disasters through meticulous studies on future. For example, in World War II, Imperial Japan attacked the Pearl Harbor without enough considerations, and this attack results in the engagement of the USA, and defeat of Imperial Japan. If Imperial Japan made exhaustive predictions of their assailing, they might prevent their epic failure in World War II.

Nevertheless, it seems clear that despite of the risk prevention through result predictions, actual action and behavior is more valuable, because superfluous considerations can even make people to throw away critical chance to gain enormous benefit. MER and the Mars Exploration Project can be a example. It is clear that the Mars Exploration Project is risky, because it requires so large resources, such as, time, money, and people’s effort. However, it is worthwhile even if the consequence is not guaranteed, because the possible advantage of the Project is so critical to the survival of human species and alternative human habitat. If people consider deeply on the consequences of the Project, human might throw away the chance of survival.

In conclusion, I mostly disagree with the author’s claim, because the excessive considerations on results of action decrease the future benefit, and even can remove the critical advantage.