Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Regarding the issue of priority of government powers, while some people assert that governments should focus on more urgent and present problems, others claim that potential future problems should be concerned first. Althtough both sides can be deemed to have some benefits with respective arguments, I am largely against the former view.

Admittedly, the assertion that instant issues take precedence over the latent problems might hold true under certain circumstances. Some exigent issues critically undermine the well-being of citizens and endanger the social stability. For instance, epidemic diseases such as Ebola virus or SARS risk thousands of lives and social security, so the government should handle these problems primarily or otherwise these issues should kill citizens and disintegrate the nation. In addition, food insecurity and malnutrition can be another example. These food crises risk a lot of lives, so they should be concerned importantly to protect people's right to life and well-being. Accordingly, based on above reasons and examples, the claim that pressing problems should take precedence over latent problems can be agreed to a certain degree.

However, potential problems also need government attentions due to their seriousness and scale. Some issues trigger potential devastating crises, thus to prevent these large-scale disaster, government attentions are necessary. For instance, environmental problems such as Global Warming and Climate Change might result Sea Level Rise and destruction of human habitats, and finally harm the survival of human race. To prevent these crisis, government-level efforts such as the Kyoto Protocol was instituted for reduction of carbon dioxide. Therefore, even if potential problems do not occur present damages, they should also be handled by government to prevent potential disaster.

Furthermore, some future problems are so serious that only government-level efforts can solve these problems, and therefore their priority over present problems can be justified. For example, problems of alternative human habitat and alternative energy are crucial expected problems of the human race. However, unlike present problems, efforts to solve these problems need large-scale and extensive efforts, such as space development programs like MER(Mars Exploration Rover) or Solar Probe. It is clear that these space development programs, to handle future habitat and energy problems, are so expensive and demanding that they can be conducted only by governmental or international powers. These necessities of government-level focuses implies that government should deal with expected critical problems first.

To sum up, while the author's claim might seem beneficial in certain conditions, in light of above counter points, I largely disagree with the author's assertion.