Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Modern nations are established on the laws, and flood of laws both regulate and protect citizens. Retrospective in history, there are unjust laws as many as just laws, and many people’s reactions to unjust laws are somewhat divergent. However, the author strongly asserts that every people have the duty to obey just laws and resist unjust laws. I largely agree with the author’s contentions, and this essay will convey why the author’s claim is cogent and compelling.

Firstly, resistance against unjust laws can remove these malevolent laws and institute new, fair laws. Through the public disobeiance, public can pressure the government to fix unjust and unfair laws, and eventually can make better society. Martin L. King’s the Civil Right Movement can be one example. He resisted prejudiced racial discrimination law, and gained public agreement to remove the law, and finally made more egalitarian America. Similarly, Nelson Mandela’s anti-Apartheid movement also make South Africa government to eradicate racial segregation law. Accordingly, these examples show that disobeyance can make actual transformations for better society.

Admittedly, some people could argue that not every people can actively reject unjust laws, because they are only a weak individual within complex society system. Individuals are weak, and even lethargic to resist powerful regulations. Hypothetically speaking, if one must 12 hours a day for his minimal survival, he cannot concern about justness of the laws. For another example, it is generally shown that people who gain lower incomes are more politically conservative than others. This also shows that not every people can perceive and disobey unjust laws. For these reasons, there might be certain circumstances that people cannot passionately resist unjust laws.

However, the responsibility and the actual behavior is not the same one. Even if one cannot virtually resist unjust laws, it does not necessarily prevent the responsibility of him. For example, in Kantian perspective, every people have responsibility to be moral, but in reality, there always exist people who contravene laws and conduct unmoral behaviors. Furthermore, in democratic social system, all citizens have both right and duty to participate the politics through vote other ways, because public participation is critical and main idea of democracy. Similarly, responsibility for resistance against unjust laws can also be a responsibility for democratic citizen. For these reasons, inaccessibility to the resistance cannot contradict the responsibility of the resistance, and they clearly have responsibility to resist for democratic society.

In conclusion, while some people argue that not every people can resist unjust laws, it is cogent that every people have responsibility to disobey unjust laws, because they can ameliorate their society through this resistance, and this resistance and participation is critical in democratic society.