In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

In this argument, the author claims that the city government should appropriate more budget to riverside recreational facilities this year to accommodate increasing water sports population. However, the author's contention contains groundless asumptions. This essay will show these unwarranted assumptions with possible alternative explanations.

To begin with, the author assumes that Mason City people's demand on water sports is high because they replied the survey as they prefer water sports. However, this might not be true because people's respondances and their actual behaviors can be disparate. It is possible that respondants prefer water sports because they cannot enjoy water sports frequently, and they are bored of commonplace activities. Furthermore, because information about survey respondants are not provided, it could be a case that the number of responded people are not sufficient or the respondant group is biased. For these reasons, the assumption that the Mason City residents' preference on water sports might not be true.

Secondly, the author presumes more assumption that use of river for water sports should increase, because Mason River should be cleaned. However, this assumption is not guarranted. For instance, Mason City people might prefer to enjoy water sports in swimming pool or outside of the city, other than the riverside. In this case, cleaning of the riverside might not affect the population using riverside. In addition, it is possible that even if the city announced to clean up Mason River, the plan might not be conducted, and use of the river thus might not increase. For these reasons, the assumption that the use or the river for water sports should be increase is groundless.

Finally, the author assumes that the cleaning of the river would be finished in this year, and therefore the budget of this year should be increased. However, this assumption might not be true. For instance, it is possible cleaning of the river can be take for ten years because the water quality is so bad. In this case, the use of money for the riverside recreational facilities in this year might be useless. Furthermore, it is possible that the plan nullified. Accordingly, the author's assumption that the cleaning of the riverside would be successed in this year is not fully justified and potentially harm the author's claim.

In conclusoin, the author's argument contains several unwarranted assumptions and these assumptions might harm the author's contention, so further evidence should be provided to correctly assess the argument.